Apologizing

To apologize is to tell someone that you are sorry for having done something that caused them inconvenience or unhappiness.

Examples:

• I’d like to apologize for my trouble making.

• I must apologize to Julie for my late arrival.

• Trains may be subject to delay on the southern line. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Here are some expressions you can use to make and respond to apologies:

Making apologies:

• I do apologize for…

• I must apologize for…

• I’d like to apologize for…

• I apologize for…

• I’m sorry for…

• I shouldn’t have…

• It’s all my fault.

• I’m ashamed of…

• Please forgive me.

• Please forgive me for my…

• I’m terribly sorry for…

• Please accept my apologies for…

Accepting apologies:

• That’s all right.

• Never mind.

• It doesn’t matter.

• Don’t worry about it.

• Don’t mention it.

• That’s OK.

• I quite understand.

• You couldn’t help it.

• Forget about it.

• Don’t worry about it.

• No harm done.

Remember:

You shouldn’t feel sorry and ask for apology for making mistakes in learning English (speaking or writing). Don’t say: “I’m sorry for my English. I’m still weak.” Or “I’m sorry, my English is not good.” There is no need to apologize for that. We are all at different stages of learning. Please hold your head high and say something like, “English is not my first language, but I am learning something new each day. One day soon, I will reach my goal.”

2 thoughts on “Apologizing

  1. Yes, you’re quite right Miss Demi, we don’t need to ask for apology for making mistakes in English, we just have to make it as part of our learning. Anyway thank you so much for the lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

