Gotcha!

Gotcha actually has several meanings. All of them can be derived from the phrase of which this is a reduced speech form, namely “I (have) got you”.

1. Literally, from the sense of got = caught or obtained. It means “I’ve caught you”, as in you’re running and I grabbed you, I’d say “Gotcha!”

2. The sense of gotcha when someone falls for a practical joke (prank); “I tricked you”.

3. The figurative sense of got = understood. Gotcha means “Aha, I see now” or “I understand“.

One thought on “Gotcha!

  1. Ms. Demi what’s the difference between ‘I got it’ and ‘I get it’, ‘I forget it’ and ‘I forgot it’?
    Apakah ini cuma masalah tenses? (<- what can I say in English of this sentence)
    I got it : aku (udah) tau
    I get it : aku (baru) tau
    I forgot it : aku (udah tau tapi) lupa
    I forget it : aku (baru tau tapi) lupa

    Please help me, I need your hand

    Like

Leave a Reply

