Adjectives Participle

The correct answer is [B] bored

You were bored because of the boring lesson in math class; you almost fell asleep. Or you were bored to death because you got nothing to do. Or you got bored because you had to listen to your friend rambling about her good-looking boyfriend and all the cute stuffs he gave her.

The correct answer is [B] confused

Adjectives ending in -ed (eg.: bored, confused, interested) and -ing (eg.: boring, confusing, interesting) are often confused. I’m boring or I’m bored?? Remember, people can be boring, but only if they make other people feel bored.

You say “She talks about her good looking boyfriend and all the cute stuffs he gave her. She’s so boring.” But not “I was very boring at the party, so I went home.”

Adjectives that end in -ed describe emotions – they tell us how people feel about something.

• I was surprised to see Barry. He told me he was going to London.

• The directions were not very clear, so I was confused which way I should choose.

• Feeling tired, he went to bed early.

Adjectives that end in -ing describe the thing that causes the emotion – a boring lesson makes you feel bored.

• I could listen to him for hours. He’s one of the most interesting people I’ve ever met.

• It’s disgggusting! I can’t eat it!

• He’s a boring teacher. I often skip his class.

So, what do you think about this lesson? It’s not that confusing, is it? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Adjectives Participle

Add yours

  1. Yes, It’s not confusing at all. 🙂
    being excited because of something exciting, like your lessons.

    if there’s a wrong in my sentence please makes a correction.

    Thank you so much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

