Omitting ‘if’

“If” is commonly used to introduce a conditional clause. “If” can be omitted from a conditional clause to shorten the sentence and place more emphasis on the result clause.

Example:

If I were you, I would accept that job offer in Chicago.

Remember, “if I were you” phrase is also used to give advice, but in this case, on a hypothetical situation.

Hypothetically speaking, I would accept that job offer in Chicago if I were you, but hey, I’m not you! So, if you want to omit the “if” from the sentence, don’t forget to inverse the auxiliary and the subject; swap their position.

Were I you, I would accept that job offer in Chicago.

If you should need my advice, I would gladly help you.

Inverse the auxiliary: should and the subject: you – swap their position. “Should” is also used to mean “in case”.

Should you need my advice, I would gladly help you.

Alright, that’s it for today’s lesson. If you still don’t understand this article about “if omission”, feel free to ask me a question. I know what you’re thinking … No, you cannot omit the “if” from that sentence. 🙂 You can only omit the “if” when the sentence uses had, were, or should.

Leave a Reply

