Ways of saying “I don’t know”

Using different ways to say “I don’t know” would make your conversation far more interesting and natural.

 

Dunno (informal)

Where do you put the car keys? – Dunno. I can’t remember.

Beats me (informal)

Who was the 35th president of the United States? – Beats me! Why don’t you Google it?

I have no idea

I have no idea why she did that.

I haven’t a clue (OR I haven’t got a clue)

Do you know the answer to that question? – I have no clue.

I haven’t the faintest idea

Could somebody explain how this happened? – I haven’t got the faintest idea.

How should I know? (when you feel annoyed that someone is asking you something)

Who ate the leftover pizza in the fridge? – How should I know? I just got home.

Don’t ask me (I’m always the last to know)

Who knows? (use to say that you don’t know something because it is impossible for anyone to know it)

Will they ever find the missing plane? – Who knows? The search has been going on for over three months now.

Your guess is as good as mine (use this when you know as little about something as the person who asked you about it)

Not as far as I know (use this to say something may be true, but you don’t have enough information)

Is Julie and Barry going for a divorce? – Not as far as I know, but Julie told me that Barry has moved out.

One thought on “Ways of saying “I don’t know”

Leave a Reply

