English Expressions Using the Word KNUCKLE

Here are some expressions using the word KNUCKLE:

 

1. Knuckle down (verb)

Meaning: to make a great effort

I’ve got my exams next week and I haven’t done much work, so I’d better knuckle down.

 

2. Knuckle under (verb)

Meaning: to submit to authority

The teacher made the students knuckle under and hand their projects in on time.

 

3. Rap on the knuckles (idiom)

Meaning: to be punished or reprimanded, not too severely, but to remind not to do that again.

Ryan got a rap on the knuckles for leaving the kitchen in a mess.

 

4. Knucklehead (noun)

Meaning: a stupid person

I’d like to get my hands on the knucklehead who designed that paper-towel dispenser.

 

5. Knuckle sandwich (idiom)

Meaning: a punch in the mouth

If he keeps bugging me, he surely will get my knuckle sandwich!

Leave a Reply

