Never ever ask these questions when you first meet someone

Listen to the audio while you read.

Impolite Questions

I’ve been asked some of the questions I’m about to tell you too many times before and I think it’s about time I told you that they are impolite and even considered rude. Here are the questions:

1. How old are you?
It’s a no-no question, especially when you ask this question to a woman because age is not just numbers to us. Age does matter.

2. Are you married?
3. Do you have a boyfriend/girlfriend?
Or:
Why are you still single?
Helloooooo… Since when my marital status is important to you?

4. Are you gay?
Duh! Do I look like one? Did I give you an impression that I am a gay? Even if I were, which is I’m not, my sexual orientation is none of your business.

5. What’s your religion?
Are you a Muslim/Christian/Jewish?
Huh?! Don’t ever ask this question because it’s a sensitive one.

6. What do you do?
7. How much money do you make?
Unless you want to brag about your job and how much money you make, don’t ask those questions. It’s very very impolite.

8. When’s the baby due? (When in fact you’re not even pregnant. You’re just a bit plump.)
Actually, I’ve never been asked this question before, but my sister has. I was like “OMG! She really had the nerve to ask her this question!” You should’ve seen the look on my sister’s face. It’s so terrifying! šŸ˜€

I believe those questions are considered impolite not only in English but also in many cultures. So, the next time you meet someone for the first time, never ever ask those questions. Got it?

 

Leave a Reply

